Returning an MDM-Erased Mobile Device to Service

Jamf School Documentation

Solution
Application
Content Type
Technical Documentation
Utilities & Services
ft:locale
en-US

When you use the Erase Device command, you can also choose to use Return to Service, which automatically re-enrolls mobile devices in Jamf School. When Jamf School sends the command to erase a managed mobile device, it can provide the Wi-Fi details and define which MDM solution to enroll the device in. The network configuration Wi-Fi profile is required to activate the device, unless you use a tethered connection. If the device is registered in Apple School Manager, the MDM configuration can be omitted, unless a web view was used when the device was enrolled via Automated Device Enrollment. This alerts the device to check for an enrollment profile during activation. When an MDM configuration is provided, it can be used when Automated Device Enrollment would have otherwise required interaction to complete enrollment. The device then erases all data and automatically proceeds to the Home Screen on the device.

This command can be sent to a single device using a quick action command or to multiple devices using a bulk quick action command. For more information about how to send commands, see Quick Action Commands for Device Management.

Requirements
  1. In Jamf School, navigate to Devices > Inventory in the sidebar.
  2. If you want to erase multiple devices, select the checkboxes next to the devices you want to erase and click Erase Devices.
  3. If you want to erase a single device, select the checkbox next to the device you want to erase and click Erase Device.
  4. Select the Return to Service checkbox.
  5. Select Install MDM profile after erasure.
  6. (Optional) If you do not want to scope a network configuration profile to the device before erasing it, deselect Automatically scope network configuration profile to device.
    Warning:

    If you do not scope a network configuration profile to the device before it is erased, the profile may be automatically removed from the device.

  7. From the pop-up menu, choose the network configuration profile you want to install after your device is erased.
    Note:

    If you do not have a network configuration profile created, you can click Create, then click +Create Profile and choose to create a network configuration profile.

  8. Click Erase.

Your device will erase and automatically re-enroll in Jamf School using your chosen network configuration profile.

If the device was enrolled via Automated Device Enrollment and the Preserve managed apps after erasure checkbox is selected in the Automated Device Enrollment profile, managed apps will remain on the device.

Note:
If the Preserve managed apps after erasure checkbox is selected in an Automated Device Enrollment profile, the following restrictions apply to devices with iOS 26 or later or iPadOS 26 or later that are enrolled using the profile:
  • Devices will not be able to install software updates. Managed software updates can be used to update these devices on an ongoing basis if they are erased and re-enrolled using an Automated Device Enrollment profile without the Preserve managed apps after erasure checkbox selected. For more information, see Manage software and app updates with Return to Service in Apple Platform Deployment.

  • Devices are ineligible for MDM solution migrations that are initiated from Apple School Manager. The devices become eligible again if they are erased and re-enrolled using an Automated Device Enrollment profile without the Preserve managed apps after erasure checkbox selected.