The following table describes the quick action commands that you can send from Jamf School. Commands that can be sent in bulk are indicated with an asterisk (*).
| Quick Action Command | Description | Requirements |
|---|---|---|
| Device Inventory | ||
Refresh* | Updates device inventory information in Jamf School, such as name, storage capacity, profiles, apps, security information, and available operating system updates |
|
Rename* | Allows you to change the device name |
|
Group* | Adds the device to a group |
|
Ungroup* | Removes the device from a group |
|
Move to Trash* | Moves the device to trash and removes any license assigned to it Note: The Move to Trash command does not remove lifetime licenses. |
|
Erase Device* | This command securely erases all settings, data, and apps, while maintaining the currently installed operating system. This will also reinstall the operating system and allow you to clear Activation Lock or allow proximity setup for mobile devices. This command can also be used with Return to Service, allowing the device to automatically re-enroll in Jamf School. Important: Supported computers with macOS 12.0.1 or later will attempt to Erase All Content and Settings by default when the Erase Device command is sent. Your computer will automatically go through an Erase All Content and Settings preflight check to determine if your device can perform the command. If the preflight check fails, your chosen fallback behavior will be performed. By default, the fallback behavior erases the devices. For more information about requirements and methods for remotely wiping computers, see Erase Apple devices in Apple Platform Deployment. |
|
Change User* | Allows you to change the device user Note: When you remove or change the user assigned to a device with Jamf School Student, Jamf Teacher restrictions will be cleared from both the device and user. |
|
Edit Location* | Moves the device to a location configured in Jamf School |
|
Change Time Zone* | Configures the time zone set on the device Note: The Change Time Zone command requires supervision using Automated Device Enrollment only. It does not support User Enrollment. |
|
Unmanage* | Stops communication between the device and Jamf School, preventing you from performing management tasks on the device When you unmanage a device, the following items are removed from the device:
|
|
Change Dynamic Quota* | Sets the amount of space for each user's local storage on a Shared iPad | iPadOS (Shared iPad only) |
Refresh Cellular Plans* | Refreshes the device's cellular plan by querying a carrier URL for active eSIM cellular plan profiles Note: The device and carrier must support eSIM. For more information, see Find wireless carriers and worldwide service providers that offer eSIM service from Apple's support website. |
|
Clear Activity Logs* | Clears the command history from the device's activity log |
|
Clear Cache* | Clears any cached users from a Shared iPad | iPadOS (Shared iPad only) |
Enable Activation Lock* | Enables Activation Lock for devices Note: The Enable Activation Lock command can be sent only as a bulk quick action command to multiple devices. It cannot be sent to a single device. |
|
Log Off User* | Logs out the currently logged in user on a Shared iPad | iPadOS (Shared iPad only) |
Restart* | Restarts the device |
|
Shut Down* | Shuts down the device |
|
Bluetooth Enable/Disable* | Enables or disables Bluetooth on the device |
|
Remote Desktop Enable/Disable* | Enables or disables Remote Desktop on the computer | macOS 10.14.4 or later |
Personal Hotspot Enable/Disable* | Enables or disables Personal Hotspot on the device |
|
Data Roaming Enable/Disable* | Enables or disables data roaming on the device |
|
Clear Passcode* | Removes the passcode from the device Note: If a profile with a Passcode payload is installed on the device, the user will be prompted to create a new passcode. |
|
Change EFI Password* | Changes the EFI password on the computer | macOS 10.13 or later |
Edit Recovery Lock* | Sets or changes the Recovery Lock password on a computer with Apple silicon |
|
Remove Teacher Restrictions* | Clears restrictions on the device set by teachers using Jamf Teacher |
|
Remove Parent Restrictions* | Clears restrictions on the device set by parents using Jamf Parent |
|
Change accessibility settings* | Configures accessibility settings on the device |
|
Reset accessibility settings* | Resets accessibility settings on the device |
|
Clear Restrictions Password | Clears the restrictions set by Screen Time on the device |
|
Lock Device | Locks the device if the device has a passcode set If you send the Lock Device command to a computer, you must enter a six-digit Find My Mac PIN. When you send the command, the computer shuts down. When the computer restarts, the user is prompted to enter the PIN. Best Practice: Save the Find My Mac PIN for future reference If you do not plan to unlock the computer within 30 days, enter the PIN in the Notes field in Device Details after you send the Lock Device command. For computers with Apple silicon and macOS 11.5 or later, you can also configure a phone number to display on the home screen when the computer is locked. Note: To locate the Find My Mac PIN used to lock the computer, do the following:
If you cannot locate the PIN, try any PINs you may have previously used in order to unlock the computer. If you still cannot unlock the computer, contact Apple Support. |
|
Turn Voice Roaming on/off | Enables or disables voice roaming on the device |
|
Enable/Disable Lost Mode | Enables Lost Mode on the device if it is connected to a network. This also gives you an accurate location of the device. Only Jamf School can access the device's location information when the device is in Lost Mode. The user is notified if anyone accessed location information while the device was in Lost Mode. Note: Lost Mode must be disabled before the user can unlock the device |
|
Play Sound | Plays a sound on the device when Lost Mode is enabled. The sound will play for about two minutes, gradually increasing in volume. |
|
Disown device (Automated Device Enrollment) | Releases devices enrolled via Automated Device Enrollment from your organization in Apple School Manager and Jamf School |
|
Retry enabling Activation Lock | Retries enabling Activation Lock for the device if a previous attempt to enable Activation Lock was unsuccessful |
|
Clear Activation Lock | Removes Activation Lock from the device |
|
| Device Updates | ||
Check now | Checks the device for available operating system updates |
|
Download | Downloads the operating system update without installing it on the device Note: To have the operating system update for computers with Apple silicon (i.e., M1 chip) installed automatically using the Download and Install commands without user interaction, a Bootstrap Token for target computers must be escrowed with Jamf School. |
|
Install | Downloads the operating system update and begins the device restart countdown notification Note: If you are installing updates on a mobile device that is locked with a passcode, see Installing iOS and iPadOS Updates for more information. |
|
Install and Restart* | Downloads the operating system update and forces any unresponsive apps to quit Warning: Sending the Install and Restart command may result in data loss. | macOS 11 or later (Supervised) |
| Managed Profiles | ||
Install/Reinstall | Installs or reinstalls the profile on the device |
|
Disable | Disables the profile on the device |
|
| Managed Apps | ||
Permanently delete deferred items | Permanently deletes all deferred apps |
|
Install/Reinstall | Installs or reinstalls the app on the device |
|
Remove | Removes the app from the device |
|
| Internal Apps | ||
Install/Reinstall | Installs or reinstalls the app on the device |
|
| Documents | ||
Permanently delete deferred items | Permanently deletes all deferred documents |
|
Remove | Removes the document from the device |
|
Install/Reinstall | Installs or reinstalls the document on the device |
|