- A Mac computer with the latest version of Apple Configurator installed
Mobile devices with iOS 16 or later, iPadOS 16.1 or later, or Apple TV devices with tvOS 16 or later
(Optional) A USB hub to enroll up to 30 devices at one time
A server token uploaded to Jamf School. For more information, see Apple School Manager Integration.
An Automated Device Enrollment profile for iOS devices created in Jamf School. For instructions, see Automated Device Enrollment.
Erase the device and progress through Setup Assistant until the device is connected to the internet.
Download and import your organization and supervision identity from Jamf School. For more information, see Downloading a Supervision Identity for Use in Apple Configurator.
Ensure you have Apple School Manager login credentials. Jamf recommends creating an Apple School Manager account that only has the Device Enrollment Manager role configured. Configuring the Content Manager role may cause problems with the volume purchasing token in Jamf School. For more information on Apple School Manager roles, see Intro to roles and privileges in Apple School Manager in the Apple School Manager User Guide.
Ensure the device is not already added to Apple School Manager. You can verify this by navigating to Devices in the Apple School Manager sidebar and searching for the device. If the device displays, you can start the following workflow at step 14.
If a device was previously enrolled in another MDM, you must remove the MDM profile before using Apple Configurator enrollment. For more information, see Removing an MDM Profile Manually.
In Jamf School, when you add a mobile device or Apple TV device using Apple Configurator, the device is provisionally managed. Provisional management means that the user has the ability to leave remote management for the first 30 days of management. During that period, the user will see a message notifying them of the updated management state and will be able to remove MDM management in the System Settings menu. After 30 days, the message disappears and the user can no longer opt out of MDM management.