Privacy Mode for Safe Internet - Jamf Safe Internet Documentation

Jamf Safe Internet Documentation

Solution
Application
Content Type
Technical Documentation
Utilities & Services
ft:locale
en-US
Jamf Safe Internet offers three privacy mode options for collecting and displaying real device identifiers from enrolled devices in security reports. This information can be used to troubleshoot or remediate security issues. You can view and change your Privacy mode in your Jamf Safe Internet portal by navigating to Settings > Privacy.
Warning:
Review these important considerations before changing the privacy mode setting in your Jamf Safe Internet portal.
  • Before switching, use your UEM to remove Jamf Safe Internet configuration objects and the Jamf Trust app (if applicable) from all devices to prevent your devices from losing internet connection.

  • When switching between full privacy and any other privacy mode, all devices and activation profiles will be deleted from your portal. The default activation profile will be recreated automatically, but you will need to manually recreate any custom activation profiles. Then, you will need to redistribute them to your devices. No action is required when switching between balanced privacy and limited privacy.

  • You will be unable to switch your privacy mode again for 24 hours.

You can choose between the following privacy modes:
Full privacy (default)
In this mode, device groups, security reports, and usage reports display only aggregate information without real device identifiers. Information from fields such as Device name, User, and Email address is neither collected nor displayed.
Balanced privacy
In this mode, Device name, User, and Email address are collected via your UEM, if available, and shown in the device groups and security reports. The usage report remains anonymous and aggregate, and will not display real device identifiers.
Limited privacy
In this mode, Device name, User, and Email address are collected via your UEM, if available, and shown in the device groups and security reports. Visited website domains will be collected, linked to the device, and displayed to the administrator.