Unenrolling a Device in Jamf Now

Jamf Now Documentation

Solution
Application
Content Type
Technical Documentation
Utilities & Services
ft:locale
en-US

Sending an Unenroll Device command to a device removes the MDM profile, the email account assigned to the device by Jamf Now, and any volume purchased apps and the data stored in them. If you have assigned volume purchased apps to this device, those licenses are reclaimed for future use. You will no longer be charged for the device.

Note:
  • Mac packages installed by Jamf Now, including Jamf Protect, Jamf Connect, and App Installers apps, are not removed from unmanaged computers. To remove these Mac packages, a Mac user must manually delete the app or use an uninstaller application.

  • Devices that were enrolled with Automated Device Enrollment may still display as supervised under Settings until the device has been erased.

Requirements

The device receiving the Unenroll Device command must be connected to the internet.

  1. Log in to Jamf Now.
  2. Select the device you want to unenroll.
  3. Click the Action pop-up menu (•••) in the top-right corner and click "Unenroll device".
  4. Click "Unenroll" in the dialog window.
Jamf profiles are removed from the device when the device successfully receives the Unenroll Device command.

Profiles can be found by navigating to System Settings > General > Device Management (macOS 15 or later), System Settings > Privacy & Security > Profiles (macOS 13–14.x), or System Preferences > Profiles (macOS 12 or earlier).

On iPad and iPhone, tap Settings and navigate to General > Device Management.

Device information will remain in Jamf Now even after the device is unmanaged. If you wish to remove the device from your inventory, navigate to the device's dashboard and click Remove from My Devices.