Perform these steps to move device data from one device to a different device. For example, when you are refreshing old devices with new devices, or you are replacing broken devices.
Warning:When restoring a backup, it is important to restore it to a different device. Restoring to the same device will bypass Auto-enrollment during setup. To trigger Auto-enrollment when using an iCloud or iTunes backup, you must restore the backup to a different device.
If you restore a backup from the same device, the backup will restore both the management configuration and the MDM enrollment profile. A backup from a managed device will cause it to remain managed after restoration, while a backup from a non-managed device will leave it unmanaged. The only way to re-initiate Auto-enrollment into Jamf Now is by restoring the backup to a new device. For more information on backing up and restoring managed devices, see Back up and restore managed devices in Apple Platform Deployment.
Requirements
A Mac with the latest version of macOS installed, or a PC with the latest version of iTunes installed
- Configure Jamf Now to allow devices to restore backups:
- Log in to Jamf Now.
- Navigate to , and verify the new device is listed.
- Navigate to , and verify the checkbox for Apps & Data is selected.
Important:
The Apps & Data setup step must be enabled to ensure the option to restore a backup will be displayed.
- Back up the original device and restore the backup on the new device:
- Manually back up the original device to a computer and wait for it to completely sync.
If prompted to create an encrypted backup password, save the password for later use in this workflow. For more information on backing up your device, see How to back up your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch from the Apple Support website.
Note:The Disable Connecting with Computers restriction can prevent connecting a managed device to a computer. This restriction does not prevent saving a backup of a non-managed device to a computer. To adjust this setting, navigate to the blueprint, and then click .
- Turn on the new device. If it is already at the Home screen, erase all content and settings from the device by doing one of the following:
-
For a managed device, send an Erase Device command.
-
Navigate to , and then tap Erase All Content and Settings.
For more information, see the following Apple documentation:
- Connect the newly erased device to the computer containing the backup you want to restore.