Re-enrolling a Managed Device Using Automated Device Enrollment

Jamf Now Documentation

Solution
Application
Content Type
Technical Documentation
Utilities & Services
ft:locale
en-US

For iPad and iPhone, you can restore your Apple Account data after erasing the device by setting up the device as new, and then signing in to iCloud.

For Apple TV, you must erase and re-enroll the device as a new device.

Requirements

Ensure that iCloud on the device is synced so data (for example, calendars, contacts, or photos) is backed up as needed. For more information, see the following articles from the Apple Support website:

  1. Sign out of iCloud on the device. If an iCloud sign-out is not possible, verify that the device has an Activation Lock bypass code and use the bypass code to access the device.

    For more information about Activation Lock, see Using Activation Lock Bypass.

  2. Erase the device in one of the following ways:
    • Erase a managed device remotely by sending an Erase Device command.

    • Erase directly on a device by navigating to Settings > General > Reset and tapping Erase All Content and Settings.

    For more information about erasing devices, see Erasing a Device.

  3. Re-enroll the device in one of the following ways:
    • Complete Setup Assistant on the reset device, and then sign back in to iCloud under Settings to restore data synced with iCloud.

      Note:

      The device must be set up as a new device during Setup Assistant.

    • If all setup steps under Auto-Enrollment > View Devices > Setup Steps have been disabled, use Return to Service to remotely re-enroll the device in Jamf Now. No other steps are needed. For more information, see Return Devices to Service Using Jamf Now.

    For more information about device assignments, see Device Assignments Setup.

    For more information about re-enrolling using Automated Device Enrollment, see Reenroll devices in MDM from Apple Platform Deployment.